‘Hoots and Hooves’

owl-8441Suffolk Owl Sanctuary

It’s been a while since my last blog post, and although I have taken loads of photo’s: due to coursework and other commitments, I haven’t had much spare time to do anything with them! In August I went with my sister and best friend/housemate to visit Suffolk Owl Sanctuary and Redwings Horse Sanctuary to try to get some good photos that could be used in a large calendar!

falcon-8635Unfortunately, I had a little trouble adjusting the settings for some of the photos of the birds – and found switching between taking pictures of the owls in their dark shelters, and flying outside quite problematic!owl-8612

Because of this, most of the photos I took outside while the birds were flying were too washed out to be saved in Photoshop – though I did manage to keep one or two like the one on the left for my reference.

Some of the better photos I think I took on the day was of the Great Horned Owl named ‘Birkett’ – in this instance, the owl had enough lighting on him, and the dark background provided me with a good contrast against his feathers. redsquirrel-8726cropped2

The Owl Sanctuary is also home to meerkats and red squirrels, which I was also very keen to get some shots of.

Unfortunately, I got into a bit of a muddle with ISO settings, and all the photos I took of the meerkats were very washed out, but after quite a long wait and numerous blurred shots, I did get a few of the red squirrels:

As with the owls, I am quite keen to revisit and attempt some more photos of both the squirrels and the meerkats in the future.

Redwings Horse Sanctuary, Caldecott

clg_redwings_201608_1These were taken on a pretty overcast day, but fortunately I was able to get some good shots once again, and have only posted a couple of my favourites on here. The rest of them are included in my ‘Horse-ing around’ album on Flickr and Facebook.

I took most of these images with the idea of putting together a calendar or diary for my sister later in the year. clg_redwings_201608_2

 

Leave a Reply

